Dark Animus and druid healing thoughts

This is quite possibly my favourite fight that I’ve seen in TOT yet. I love it for both the mechanics and the scenery. You walk into a big room with 3 different sized adds arranged around the edge of the room (I call them robots)  and an anima orb hanging in the centre of the room. You’re free to wander all over the room as it doesn’t start the fight, which is great for getting into position.

 

WoWScrnShot_042513_201050Once the fight is started, the orb explodes and powers up the little robots. The first phase is really about add management. The little robots cannot be held near any other little ones, including the stationary damaged ones, as their damage gets seriously buffed. So to that end everyone, including healers, has to hit one of the little robots and gain aggro and hold them until one by one they are taunted away. The reason for this is each time one dies they release their anima or energy which will then empower the bigger adds and you want to be able to control which big add is empowered.

WoWScrnShot_042213_204706My little robot

During the fight people are matter swapped , which means their locations are swapped, this can make for some tricky times as their little add will chase them through the room to their new location, so the other people need to be aware of the add coming though and adjusting their positions so their adds don’t get their attacks buffed. Matter swap also damages the people who are swapped when it is dispelled. We found that waiting until the timer was at 5 resulted in healable damage levels.

Once you have killed enough adds to have released enough anima the boss engages. During this time he will put an anima font on one person. This does  aoe damage and has a really large radius, the targeted person has to move right out of the group.This was the biggest source of wipes at the start until we worked out how large the radius seems to be. There is also an anima ring put on the tanks, they need to get out of that, in our group there are allocated dps to help with that so I have no idea what they were doing, just be aware it does result in large tank damage.

As the fight goes on, the boss’ anima levels increase, when he gets to 75, he starts to cast Interrupting Jolt every  20 seconds until he is killed. Interrupting Jolt does large raid wide damage and you also need to stop casting during it.

WoWScrnShot_042313_211640

Healing Thoughts.

There is a lot of movement in this first bit so trying to judge where everyone will be standing is difficult to judge for mushroom placement. So I started by putting mushrooms on the location where I would be tanking my little add and pre-charged them. Then I could use them on myself if my add was hitting me too hard or if someone else’s add came to close after a matter swap.

Once I used my mushrooms, I relaid them in the centre of the room where the boss was going to be tanked so that I would have time to charge them up again.

Once a person got matter swap on them, I would rejuvenate them and put lifebloom on them before they were dispelled. .  The rejuvenation  and lifebloom  mean they had  hots rolling on them when they were swapped and seemed to smooth out some of the damage. I made sure that I always had a 3 stack lifebloom rolling on someone and with the glyph just moved it around a lot, this saved me having to take time out to use 3 global cooldown’s (gcd’s) to get it back on.

I also took incarnation for this fight. When the boss hit around 68 anima, I popped tree, placed lifebloom on everyone and was able to stop casting and still have hots rolling on people, which made it faster to get everyone’s health up after.It would last just long enough for me to do that again right before the next Interrupting Jolt and then I would use tranquility to heal up the damage after it.

Sometime during this phase I used the  mushrooms I had charged up but I didn’t lay them again as I didn’t think I would be overhealing enough to charge them up.

Talents

  • Nature’s swiftness – macroed to healing touch provides a mana free instant healing touch every minute, which if it crits is a large instant heal.
  • Incarnation  – I like the ability to lifebloom everyone prior to an interrupting jolt.
  • Nature’s vigil

Glyphs

  • Regrowth  – guaranteed to  crit.
  • Wild growth – hits an extra person for only a 2 sec increase in cd
  • Lifebloom – You can swap the current stacks of lifebloom to another person without losing the stacks. It saved a lot of gcd’s being used.
2 thoughts on “Dark Animus and druid healing thoughts

  1. 🙂 I’m still learning the fights so if I find anything I do too differently after seeeing the fights a lot more, I’ll update it :). I find though atm I carry heaps of tomes to change out my different talents and glyphs each fight almost.

Leave a Reply

