Casual. Is it a dirty word?

Despite only being 3 bosses away from killing Heroic Garrosh, I’ve decided to take a bit of a break from raiding progression. I’m sure I’ll be jealous as heck when my guild does kill Garry but I just couldn’t face any more of SoO for now. I found I was starting to get cranky at little things that wouldn’t normally affect me and resent the time I would have to be online in the raid which I realised is a pretty big wake up call that my fun down time isn’t being so fun or relaxing at all.

When I mentioned to a few of the other raiders that I was going to stop raiding, I was surprised to hear a couple mention they were thinking about going casual too. Casual to me is a funny term because I’m certainly not thinking about dropping my wow play time – actually not-raiding gives me more time to get through more content because I’m not stuck in one place for 9-12 hours a week but free to go and chase ach’s, pets, levels, transmogs, reputations… the list is endless.ย  I think I may be one of the few people who feels there is possibly not enough time before the next expansion to get through the list of wow goals.

I’m not sure if I’ll go back to raiding for the rest of this tier, I certainly won’t rule it out because for this entire expansion so far I’ve been focused on raiding and getting to heroic content which I did for ToT and SoO which was really fun at the time so who knows in a whileย  I might feel like dipping my toes in the raid waters again. But even without raiding I don’t seem to have any shortage of wow goals to keep me busy. I’ve decided to follow wowhead’s guide to beating the celestial tournament and am steadily working my way though levelling the pets they recommend. I have 13 levelled to 25 with another 17 to go.

Eventually thinking about the insane title will progress into actually doing something about it, especially if I get back to levelling my rogue so she can get pick pocketing mobs for the heavy junkboxes needed to bribe my way to one of the reputations I need.

Anyway time to go level a few more pets.

See you in Azeroth

4 thoughts on “Casual. Is it a dirty word?

  1. I had a chuckle when you affectionate called Garrosh “Garry” haha. It’s Monday morning and I don’t know why I find that so funny ๐Ÿ˜›

    I have been casual since the end of Wrath… I do kind of miss the raid environment but I don’t miss the restrictions I felt when I did raid. My experience was a little different but when you have a health issue crop up, you don’t expect guildies to bag you out for missing one night of raiding so you could have a needle jabbed into you to ensure you don’t have cancer. Luckily for me, not only was my needle jabbing benign, but I had a wake up call regarding raiding. Why should I raid myself to death and not be appreciated. I know I was, but I spent so many nights frustrated to the point of tears, not because of the raiding itself, but because I wanted to go out to dinner at my grandparents house and I felt like I would get ‘told off’ if I didn’t attend raid. I needed a serious reevaluation and I chose to go casual. I was not popular, but I also left during content which wasn’t quite at the point SoO is at now, but close enough.

    As for now, I have that many alts I could do stuff on, I will never ever finish before xpac, that has me covered! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Oh wow, it sounds like your guild wasn’t very understanding. Something that scary would always come first and no one in their right mind should give you grief over that. I’m so glad it worked out well and was a benign scare.
      Tbh my guild has been pretty good with not giving people grief if they need time off for whatever reason.
      I have a sneaking feeling that even without raiding I too might never finish my list before the expac ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Casual is definitely not a dirty word! Maybe to a hard core raider, but what defines a casual raider? is it time? Is it progression? Is it an attitude? I’m just glad your guild is not the nasty sort who will kick you out for being casual, so I’m happy for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was going to say holy crap 12 hours of raid a week, but I just realised i do 6 hours of norm/heroic and 2 hours of flex so that’s also 8 hours! But I have very little I want to catch up on – and if you need a hand with that celestial tourney, happy to help!

    • True, I have no idea what defines a casual player especially as you could have someone who never steps foot into a raid but never steps out of azeroth.
      We were raiding 9 normally, only going to 12 if we really wanted to clear something which we haven’t been doing in ages. But it really adds up – as you mentioned normal/heroic raiding takes a big chunk and then flex on top, its a lot of time in SoO.
      Any tips for the tourney would be welcomed, its so intimidating in there. And I have no idea what pets I needed, I would have thought having 75 at lvl 25 would have been enough but apparently not – thats why I decided to chose one dedicated guide and stick to it.

Leave a Reply

