My thumbs are not used to this

I decided to try out something entirely different for me and give Tomb Raider on the x-box one a try. I can’t say I’ve ever been into console games a lot, I can’t actually remember the last time I played one but I really liked Tomb Raider when I played it way, way back.

 Tomb_Raider_AoD_screenshot

tomb raider

big big changes!  photos borrowed from here and here

The game is so fun but I find it really hard to play for 2 reasons.

1. My thumbs seem to have no control over themselves. I was watching a seasoned console gamer play and his thumbs move at a million miles a minute.. mine not so fast. Which makes my reaction time way way slow which usually means I tend to die a lot when I have to move the left stick fast or switch buttons. I also don’t seem to be able to operate the left stick (walking actions) and right stick (camera actions) at the same time, so I end up staring at the sky or directly at my feet being hit on by some enemy I can’t find.

2. I get so so apprehensive when I’m trying to work towards somewhere that I know enemies are. I have to keep telling myself to relax and if I die then the game’s autosave feature will kick in and I won’t have to start from ages ago but still I creep up and around corners and my heart moves into my throat because I get all caught up in the suspense and nervousness.

Hopefully as I play on, I’ll get 1. better with my thumbs and 2. stop getting all worried about dying and can maybe play the game faster than snails pace.

Leave a Reply

