#10 Years10 Questions

ten
 Alternative Chat is asking ex and current wow players about their time in Azeroth. I’ve been thinking about these questions since I saw her blog post a few days ago and figured I would stop procrastinating and actually write the answers.
1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?
I basically started because I was a bit bored of all the games I had. I had ignored the existence of World of warcraft for a long time because I refused to play an online game. However, something made me buy it one day.. ok I’ll be honest, the battlechest was on sale for a ridiculously low price and came with free game time so I figured I had nothing to lose.
From the moment I started playing I was hooked, I think even if WoW were a single player I’d still be in love with the game.
2. What was the first ever character you rolled?
A human mage who I still play quite regularly though she has undergone a few transformations in her life including name, faction and server.
WoWScrnShot_090411_221232
I chose a mage because I always tend to gravitate towards casters and the mage seemed a natural choice. However now, with all my alts, I still only have 1 mage.
I find them a bit squishy and after levelling a number of alts from all the other classes, I am actually surprised at how I ever managed to persevere with levelling her to 85 (now 90).
3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?
When I installed the game, I only installed the vanilla expac so I didn’t have access to all the races there we can make now. In particular;  I didn’t have access to Blood Elfs. Which meant out of all the classes that were available the only two that really appealed were human or night elf; and at the start the elfs seemed a bit intimidating so I rolled a human and since I was a solo player at the start – I knew no one IRL that played Wow – all my friends who were interested in WoW were those I met in the first guild I joined and amazingly the majority of those players only had Alliance toons as well so I  pretty much played Alliance exclusively for the first couple of years just so I could stay with the friends I had made.
I think though had I had the option of playing a blood elf from the start I probably would have been horde. Now days I play horde exclusively though I do have a couple of max level alliance characters, they just don’t get any play time.
4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?
 The most memorable moment would be probably when I realised just how open to exploring this world can be. I realised about the time that I jumped on the Deeprun Tram from Stormwind to Ironforge as a lowbie that if I chose to, I could set off and explore the world in any way I chose (well almost) as long as I was  prepared for deaths along the way; like the time when I took my  low mage into a zone for lvl 70s – my first experience of Karazhan/Deadwind Pass when I strayed out Duskwood.
5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?
Lore and NPC stories. I think the main thing that makes this game so enjoyable and that I can’t find in other games I play (which is why I keep coming back to wow) is the depth of the back stories behind pretty much everyone I come across. It’s the stories that will see me do things like pop down to Shattrath just to check out the interaction between Cho and Granny Smith or venture into old content dungeons just to see the NPCs that live there.
6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?
Dalaran. Pre-MOP every single one of my toons would have their hearth set to Dalaran from the minute I could find a friendly mage to portal me up there or an online guildy to  use their Have Group, Will Travel. I just find Dalaran so relaxing and beautiful and convenient. It’s full of amazing little characters like Windle the Gnome who will shine your shoes and Rohnin is often found striding the streets in order to do his speech and tricks with the sky. I still pause to listen to his “Citizens of Dalaran” proclamation whenever I hear it.
Post-MOP: though the majority of my toons now have their hearthstones bound to the Shrine, Dalaran is still my city of choice for Auction House duties or visiting trainers.
Oh and Karazhan, I spent a very long time visiting that castle to eventually get my hands on Midnight, now I go back just to see the place. I absolutely love that castle with its hidden rooms and mazes. If Iever have to make the decision to log out and not log back in again, it would be a very difficult choice over leaving them in Dalran or Karazhan.
7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?
My two longest played toons are my mage and druid. My druid main has a /played time of 103 days and my mage is at 92 days.
I would say it’s been continuous. I’ve never unsubbed my main account (I’ve had a couple of accounts for RAF and one of them has 3 lvl 90s on it which I probably will re-sub one day) and though I’ve taken time off to go play other games I don’t think a week has gone past without me logging in for some reason or another.
8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?
I wish I did, it would probably stop me having to go back and re-do the quest on so many toons in order to actually understand a zone. I usually start out with the best of intentions and read quest text but I find if I’m questing for a while I end up just reading the objective and running off to try to get as many quests done. Then I’ll turn around and wonder why exactly did that NPC send me off to gather fluff for him and renew my vow to actually read quest text next time.
9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?
One. I went through a phase where wow became everything to me to the exclusion of an offline life. It had pretty significant consequences IRL. Now while I love Azeroth as much as I ever did, I’m trying really hard to make sure I actually have that balance between my online and offline worlds that I didn’t have for a while.
10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?
I’ve managed to find quite a few very close friends that have crossed the lines from online friend to offline friend and my love for Azeroth has seen me reschedule many events so I can be online and of course I blog which means I’m thinking about wow a lot.
7 thoughts on “#10 Years10 Questions

  1. “If I ever have to make the decision to log out and not log back in again, it would be a very difficult choice over leaving them in Dalran or Karazhan.”

    I haven’t thought about it that way before…. about where I leave my toons while I’m not playing them. It’s a bit like Toy Story I suppose (in my head anyway). I think I’m going to have to think about this in future. I’ve left some toons in some horrible places! I feel bad now!

    • I know when I unsubbed my second account I took care to strip the 90s of useable items and leave them safely in the Shrine but the lower ones got left where they were but I know that it’s not a forever logging out, I will resub that account one day. If I wasn’t going to activate the account I want to know that my toons are somewhere they’ll be happy… I’m sure they play themselves when I’m not around.

      • I try to leave mine in any places they couldn’t be attacked by monsters easily (so always on roads or in houses – and I never leave mine flying on their mounts…poor dragons can’t fly forever you know!!

        I do think they all party when logged out!

        xxoo

        dragonray

        • lol, I try to keep mine safely on the group when I log out but I logged into a toon once to find her hovering in the mount on a drake and I have no idea what she was doing.

          I have also left toons dead in disgust.. generally if I’m being ganked and come back days later to find them alive at the graveyard. I think they must have got sick of hoving as a ghost in my absence.

Leave a Reply

