Stepping into Highmaul – Take 2

Raiding Night Take 1

Our first night in Highmaul was very short-lived. Our team got in and managed to get Kargath down and then the lag fun and games started. Cinder posted about it here. Pretty much it was a write off for a raid night and we all resigned ourselves to not getting much done and instead coming back the next night.

Raiding Night Take 2

Kargath

The servers were much more stable the 2nd night and things went a lot smoother. Since Kargath had been  an easy run, we decided to try him on heroic. He was a little more difficult but not very and he went down really quickly. It was pretty exciting seeing all the shiny purple loot that dropped.

The Butcher

We decided to give The Butcher a go on heroic but we came to a halt there because he hit berserk with a fairly sizeable chunk of health left, not close enough to keep beating our heads against him so we flicked it back to normal and kept going. Once  on normal this fight was pretty easy, the damage levels were really reduced, I’m not even sure if I got a chance to pop Tranquility. It was quite surprising the damage difference, hopefully with a full raids worth of gear under us, next week will be a heroic kill for him.

I completely forgot about taking photos of him, so Cinder and I decided that we would try to remember to take photos of the next bosses together.

Tectus

This guy took out half the raid almost first go with his little spikes of badness but second time around we were all much more aware of our feet and he didn’t seem to be too much of a problem. To be honest I spent so much of this fight running around I wasn’t really paying too much attention. If I wasn’t running away from a red gas that was chasing me, I was running away from spikes that were about to pop out of the ground. It did seem to end rather abruptly to me, I’m sure there were still lots of adds up when we got the achievement and the fight ended so I’ll need to pay more attention to the fight next week.

Tectus

Brackenspore

This fight was really fun, we did have a very early wipe because we didn’t realise just how much the Flame thrower guys have to be on top of burning away the creeping moss that covers the ground and the whole raid really quickly was covered in moss with no where to stand. Part of this fight includes healing up two beneficial mushrooms that pop up throughout the fight. The green one, Living Spore, does a raidwide heal to anyone in 20yards of it when it is healed to full.

It was absolutely fantastic when the blue rejuvenating mushroom came out. Healing this to full gives  a really big increase to mana regen and haste; so while it was up I could spam regrowth constantly. The amount of healing that could be put out during this phase actually seemed really strong in comparison to the amount of damage that was going out.

Brackenspore

Twin Ogron

In my mind, this was probably the most painful of all the bosses faced; it‘s a really movement intensive fight with lots of raid aoe damage. The twins, Pol and Phemos do different abilities based on their energy and most of the abilities require you to run away from something. There are rocks that fall from the roof in 3 waves; each wave of rocks has an increasing range of aoe damage from where the rocks lands – 3 yards, then 8 yards then raid wide. Phemos casts whirlwind which does damage to anyone around him.

And the most fun was when the twins throw their axes onto the ground which spawns moving lines of fire from them. Almost like a maze. Trying to pick a safe place to stand or to run to was very tricky at times. I’m not really looking forward to that fight on heroic I must admit.

Twin Ogron

 We called it after that boss as we reached the end of our raid night so on Sunday we head back in and face the last two bosses; Ko’ragh and Imperator Mar’gok.

I got a couple of pieces of loot in the raid, pretty bracers and new boots. The boots actually popped up with avoidance on them, which is a tertiary stat that helps to reduce a little aoe damage. With my level 3 War Mill I get a seal of tempered fate automatically just from talking to the npc in the mill each week. There are a ton of other options to get the other 2 seals; honor, gold, apexis crystals and I think garrison resources. I went with 500g and 1000 crystals for my other two but I’ll probably find a non gold method in the future though it does make a nice and fast option, if I don’t feel like farming up any mats, I can just buy my seals.

 This is actually the first time I’ve been raiding from the start of when a raid tier is released; I started playing in cata so by the time I got to 85 and actually understood what the heck raids actually were, firelands had been out for a few months and at the start of MOP I was in a guild that didn’t want anyone to raid until every member of the old cata team was ready to raid which ended up being quite a few weeks after MV released. I have to say raiding so early is  actually pretty fun. I can’t wait to see the rest of the bosses and to work through the different difficulties.

2 thoughts on “Stepping into Highmaul – Take 2

  1. Aww look at us! I’m glad we got some screenshots of the two of us at least.

    This is the first time I’ve raided at launch time, too. It’s pretty exciting! I’ve only really been in groups who were a bit over it all because it was the end of the expansion, so it’s nice to be around while people are super keen and excited.

    • We look great!! Hopefully we can get guild photos as we kill the heroic versions.

      I agree, it is so exciting. I love that everyone in the guild is really keen and excited. Hopefully that atmosphere continues.

Leave a Reply

