Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge: If I couldn’t be a Druid I’d be a….

Cinder and I have opened up our shared blog topic challenge for everyone to join in on. The more the merrier! Each Friday  we post a new topic that’s open for a week for everyone to write about. Cinder and I will link all posts for this topic on our shared blog website here and you can find Cinder’s awesome post right here.

This weeks topic is all about what would you play if you couldn’t play your main toon? I thought this was a particularly relevant topic at this point in time, given how much 7.1.5 has changed the playstyle of a number of classes. I’m rather lucky in that I absolutely adore being a Druid so it would take a lot to get me away from playing one.

But it’s no secret I’m a serious altoholic and every time I spend a bit of time on an alt I generally end up falling in love with it for a bit and sometimes secretly wishing I’d change mains. Then I come back to Z and remember all over again how much I love the totalness of what a Druid offers like access to all the specs, and the different forms and a healing style I really enjoy.

If I had to change away from a Druid… It would be a tough decision because there’s quite a few classes I really enjoy playing. It definitely would number one have to be a class that has a healing spec because I really like healing, make that really really like healing! So that narrows the choices down to Shaman, Priest, Monk or Pally.

And that’s where it gets harder because each of those classes bring something really fun and each has drawbacks to them. Monk and Pally have the same set up for specs, Tank, Melee Dps and Heals, making them the most similar to Druid in that regard, but I’d really miss having a ranged os so they’re out. And while I really like Monk healing, I’ve never been able to get my head around Paladin healing. Too many hands, or Blessings or something but it’s just never clicked with me.

I like Shaman a lot, visually the Elemental spells have to be one of the most spectacular; throwing Lava and Fire and Lightning through the air at your enemies. And getting a fire elemental to come and attack with you for a bit is pretty cool, but as much as I’ve levelled a Shammy to max level each expansion, it’s just never grabbed me as a healing style though they have some great abilities with their healing totems.

And that leaves Priest, which would definitely have to be my favourite healer next to Druid. It’s also the healing style that is most closest to Druid. It has a ranged os which is pretty fun to play though I’ve never actually spent that much time as a Shadow Priest outside of levelling. But if I couldn’t be a Druid, there’s probably a very high chance I’d end up as a Priest.  I’d miss so much of what I love about Druid but there’s some really good perks of being a priest.

Their spells look amazing! All flashy and golden light. A priest in action looks stunning. Even more so now in Legion.

And I love that a priest can pretty much be any race. While I love Night Elf Druids for Alliance, I’m still not 100% sold on being a Troll (though they look so much better now than they used to)  and I really don’t like Tauren,  so a Priest would give me far greater range in being able to play a race I really liked.

And as much as I love my Druid, leather armor looks nowhere near as awesome as cloth. If I played a Priest, I’d probably spend all my gold in a matter of days from transmogrifying constantly.

Choosing another class to main would not an easy choice because there is just so much I love about being a Druid but each time I play my Priest, I’m reminded over and over there are some pretty great features to them as well.

If you had to swap mains, what would you choose?

zcbc_contributor_rectangle

4 thoughts on “Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge: If I couldn’t be a Druid I’d be a….

    • Lol, I couldn’t actually pick which one you would choose, I was leaning towards Pally or Mage for you, you surprised me by throwing in Druid at the end hehe.

  1. Pingback: Topic 8: If you couldn’t play your main anymore, what class would you be? – Z and Cinder's Blog Challenge

  2. Pingback: Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge – Changing Mains | Reputation Grind

Leave a Reply

