Mythic Spellblade deaded

After the guild got Krosus down last week, Spellblade was the next boss up in progression. We started a fresh raid on Wed and cleared the first 3 and then we tried to get Krosus down but our priest was away so we were healing with 2 druids and a pally and there just wasn’t enough direct heals with the two of us druids so we decided to go to Spellblade and start progression,  instead of beating our heads against Krosus. We were managing to consistently get to the end of the 2nd phase on the first night. Then Thursday night was a heroic clear so we didn’t go back to Spellblade.

Fast-forward to tonight and it was a whole night on Spellblade. We got to a heartbreaking 0.4% wipe, then a bunch of terrible early phase wipes, then a 2.7% wipe and then we had the last attempt where it all came together and her health was inching down with a ton of people still alive and then she was dead. For pretty much the entire last 10% of her health I had the absolute jitters.

Out of all the bosses I’ve seen so far, Spellblade is my favourite fight. It’s a glorious juggling act of making sure the right 8 people get and keep the mark of frost between themselves, drop the pools of frost and fire in the right places and then dodge the balls. It was probably the most intense healing fight I’ve done in a really long while too. The sheer amount of damage that goes out with high stacks of mark was phenomenal. I absolutely love guardian affinity here for the frenzied regen healing.

And to make the night even better, I was made core raider at the end of tonight which was really exciting. I was hoping I was going ok, but each time my healing would be lower or I’d die on a mechanic I was sure I’d get the “thanks but you’re not what we’re looking for’ talk. But nope, I got in. This I’m really excited about.

Tomorrow night we start on Tichondrius. We probably won’t be getting Gul’dan down before Tomb comes out but hopefully we’ll get a bit closer. So far for the last 3 weeks there’s been a progression boss die each week so that’s a really good start.

My god, I love raiding and I’m really excited I’m at 5/10M (6/10 when I get to go in on Krosus). I’m so glad I took a chance and came to try this guild out. Thanks to all the lovely people who listened to me ruminate over what to do.

4 thoughts on “Mythic Spellblade deaded

  1. I remember being in our raid in WoD and seeing our Tank as the last person up, going solo for 3 minutes and finally falling with the boss having 12,300 health. That was such an awesome night. He felt so bad like he had let us down. We all purposely died the following week just as a joke. All he said was I hate you guys. And, who chopped up a bunch of onions.

    That’s one of those moments you know you play with the right people.

    • That is an awesome story! That would have been a great group to be a part of.
      The 0.4% wipe we had tonight had our two warlocks soloing the boss for quite a bit, it really looked like they were going to get it too.
      Raid shenanigans can make for the best stories 🙂

Leave a Reply

