Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge Topic 22: Your WoW soundtrack (or lack of)

Cinder and I have opened up our shared blog topic challenge for everyone to join in on. The more the merrier! Every second Saturday we post a new topic that’s open for a fortnight for everyone to write about. Cinder and I will link all  posts for this topic on our shared blog website here.  

This topic was suggested by Kamalia and it’s taken me ages to get around to writing because I wasn’t sure how to answer. I don’t usually play with music on in WoW; I’m pretty much always on discord and having music competing with voice can be annoying.

Actually I’m not a huge music person at all, it tends to be low on my list of priorities and when I’m stressed or overwhelmed it’s the easiest sensory overload to cut out. Work has been an absolute shocker the past month, 10 people resigned or were retrenched leaving their workload to be picked up by just 4 people (in addition to our own workloads) and I realised that I haven’t had the radio playing in the car that entire time simply because my stress levels are so high on the way to and from work that all I want is quiet (it’s also part of the reason my blog has quieted down a bit over the same period, there’s just no mental energy to spare atm).

Given my lack of musical interest there’s really only two pieces of music that spring to mind when I think of wow. The first is a very unlikely combination, but in MoP I was on voice with a guildie a lot and for months they had Radioactive by Imagine Dragons playing on repeat. A whole lot of time spent afking in the Alliance Shrine and hearing that song means I can’t go into the place without expecting to hear it being played. It also means if I randomly hear it somewhere, I’m instantly transported to the foyer of the shrine and I can see it so clearly in my mind.

The second is one of my favourite songs and it’s a Nightcore one, ‘Angel with a Shotgun’. I can’t see a holy priest in their Angel form without thinking of that song.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge Topic 22: Your WoW soundtrack (or lack of)

  1. Pingback: Topic 22: Your WoW soundtrack – Z and Cinder's Blog Challenge

  2. Boy, I feel old. I see “Radioactive” and the first thing I think of is not the Imagine Dragons song but the song “Radioactive” by The Firm, one of those 80s supergroups that had the lead singer of Bad Company (Paul Rodgers) and the guitarist from Led Zeppelin (Jimmy Page) along with the drummer from AC/DC (Chris Slade) and the bassist from Whitesnake (Tony Franklin).

    Still, when I’m not listening to an MMO’s soundtrack in game –and I’d need something to pick me up when constantly losing in Warsong Gulch (no healers, no win)– I’d listen to an oddball mix of 80’s New Wave and 90’s Alternative. Mashing stuff like “I Know What Boys Like” by The Waitresses with “Zombie” by The Cranberries is the vibe I was going for. It didn’t help me get on winning teams, but it was better than feeling abjectly miserable at the ass kicking that the Alliance routinely received in Cata and Mists.

Leave a Reply

