Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge Topic 25: Who do you cheat on wow with?

Cinder and I have opened up our shared blog topic challenge for everyone to join in on. The more the merrier! Every second Saturday we post a new topic that’s open for a fortnight for everyone to write about. Cinder and I will link all  posts for this topic on our shared blog website here.  

Well if you read my blog lately you’ll see I’m definitely having a bit on the side with Ark, pretty much to the full exclusion of WoW.

From hunted to hunter. I have a T-Rex!

For 8 years WoW has pretty much been my only game but every now and again I find I get caught up in other games. Usually it’s really short lived because I tend to have mostly mmos on my game list and with the very nature of MMOs (grindy, designed to keep you logging in daily) playing more than one MMO is a difficult and I usually decide if I’m going to put the effort into a game, it may as well be WoW.

My favourite  MMOs are Wildstar, GW2 and  SW:ToR . I have max level toons on each of them but I really hardly ever go to see them anymore.

GW2

Wildstar

SW:Tor

Skyrim is one of my favourite games ever and as single player it means I can just go do my own thing when I want some alone time. The amount of horses I’ve bought and then lost in this game is astronomical.

And then every now and again a game I think I’m just going to dip my toes into ends up grabbing me hard and I really want to spend a lot of time playing in that universe for a bit.

At times when I’ve gone off and played another game for a while, I usually find myself wondering why I put so much time into WoW to the exclusion of other games. Especially when WoW can be such a frustrating game at times. Currently, changes to spell animations, an entire expansion built around RNG , and development decisions I just don’t understand that never seem to get addressed are actually making me really disillusioned with the game at the moment. I know in my head it’ll be temporary but at the moment it’s enough to make me find playing other games seem like a breath of fresh air until the feelings of discontent go away. WoW is a winning model, and because one small subscriber doesn’t like aspects, it doesn’t mean the game is flawed.

It’s actually really awesome that there are so many games out there to be able to spend my free time in different worlds whenever I feel like it.

 

5 thoughts on “Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge Topic 25: Who do you cheat on wow with?

  1. I finally hit that (at the time) endgame wall in Wildstar, but up until that point I was enjoying the storyline. I had my suspicions as to how the Enemy was created, but I think it’ll be a while before I push past where I’m at right now. Still, the game is better than it has any right to be; I first tried it out thinking it was Texas + Space Opera, and I couldn’t figure out what Wildstar wanted to be. But after about L20 or so the story took off and it got very interesting.

  2. Pingback: Topic 25: Who do you cheat on WoW with? – Z and Cinder's Blog Challenge

Leave a Reply

