Day 126: Island time flies

Day 126 on The Island and so much has changed with a new house and quite a few additions to our dino family.

Once we leveled up enough to be able to tame flying Pterodons, the whole Island opened up and choosing a new house location became much easier. Flying in this game is so much fun, especially on the little Pteros. They can’t hold much weight but they are pretty fast so getting around takes way less time, and it’s much safer in the air!

This site for the 2nd house was chosen to be near all the different biomes. It’s in a slightly more dangerous area then the first house but still fairly safe enough to be kept in wood. It’s not quite in the centre of the map but it’s close enough to be a short flight to everything – snow, forests, swamp, volcano and beaches, which is handy as different dinos and resources are found in all the different regions.

I’ve been looking at really gorgeous buildings that people have made in Ark and I’m so far away from being able to build amazing structures (and I don’t think I’m that creative tbh) but I’m fairly happy with how the house is coming along so far.

It’s 3 levels inside, the bottom floor is for crafting and where the smaller land based dinos live.

The middle floor has the balcony to get outside and where the Pterodons are parked.

And the top floor is open to the air and where the bigger fliers are parked.

I got my greenhouse up and running and luckily it rains a lot on this map, so the plants and watertank stay full of water. I can’t stand gardening IRL but I love getting to muck around in the garden in Ark.

The faster you tame an animal in Ark, the better level it comes out with at the end. Each food that you can tame with, meat, berries etc have different values for taming timer but the fastest way to tame is by cooking kibble made with the different dino eggs. The first type of kibble I’ve decided to focus on comes from Dodo eggs, so I’ve been taming a collection of female dodos.

They make the cutest little cooing noise when you’re around them. I built them their own little thatch coop off the main house. It’s gorgeous to walk in there and listen to them carrying on. They are super cute (but also a bit creepy ) and they to stare at you as you walk around. You can also pick them up and run around when holding them. Dodo cuddles!

There was a level 100 Spino (150 is the max wild dino level) frolicking around in the water under our cliff tonight so it was a great chance to go get one. Next to Rex’s they’re one of the most dangerous dinos, super fast in land and water and super strong. Dec helped me set the trap up and lured the Spino in because I was being an utter chicken and didn’t want to get close to it even though it was my idea to go tame him. Even when he was in the trap and I was shooting him with Tranquilizer arrows, I was so nervous he’d suddenly break out and I was going to get munched on.

He didn’t break out though and is now guarding the front of the house when we’re not there. He ended up taming right before I logged off for the night so I can’t wait for tomorrow night to  see what he’s like to take into the water. The wild ones bounce around like crazy when they’re chasing fish in the water.

He is absolutely massive!

And saving the best for last…

I tamed a Unicorn!!

On each map, there can only ever be 1 Unicorn alive at a time so they are super rare. I’ve seen 2 before but both were in really dangerous places and pretty much were eaten not long after I saw them, but out collecting Dodos tonight, I saw it and amazingly it was in relatively safe, scary dino free area, though ages away from the base. I raced back to the greenhouse to collect carrots and flew back with my fingers crossed hoping he was still there. He was!

The tame was pretty quick  thanks to the boosted tame timers on the server but then I had to decide how to get him back to base. There was no way I was riding him back without a saddle to give him armor, especially as I had to get through the Swamp which is really dangerous. I  ended up leaving him in the middle of the closest deserted spot I could find and flew back to get the Quetz which is the biggest flier and capable of picking up horses, with my fingers even more tightly crossed this time. Amazingly nothing killed him but even flying back was a bit nerve wracking  because every time I’d have to land to get stamina for the bird, I was sure we were going to be attacked. But I got him home safely and am so excited to have my own Unicorn.

Though, given my track record with keeping horses alive, it might not be a long-lived Unicorn. 

 

Leave a Reply

